Monday Musings: The Cover Matters!

I buy a lot of books. And I mean a lot. One of the first things I notice before even making a purchase, and this is especially true of a new author, or an author I’ve never read before, is the cover. I know the old adage goes You can’t judge a book by it’s cover…GIT YO LIFE. Admittedly, there are some hidden gems in a shitty or lackluster cover, but to the consumer, it’s the like the icing on the cake. Pound cake is tasty, but a pound cake drizzled with lemon or vanilla icing is fucking heaven. If the cover is wack, I’m more than likely to pass on the book. If the cover is ooh-la-la, then I’m a 1-click trick…Lemme introduce you to the Queen of Covers: LaVerne Thompson(aka Ursula Sinclair)! I have purchased and read each and every one of these books because the cover screamed HOTNESS. BUY ME NOW! And so I did…And oh yeah, the books were actually good too.

He can protect me anytime!
He can protect me anytime!
Love how she made the blue of his eyes pop. Hey boo!
Love how she made the blue of his eyes pop. Hey boo!
This dude is her personal trainer! Sign me up!
This dude is her personal trainer! Sign me up!
This cover is like GAHTDAYUM! It's actually in the running for best romance cover
This cover is like GAHTDAYUM! It’s actually in the running for best romance cover
OMG...this guy! His name is Colin Wayne, and he's a fitness model, and he gives me wet dreams.
OMG…this guy! His name is Colin Wayne, and he’s a fitness model, and he gives me wet dreams.
Speak On It

