Monday Musings: The Elephant In The Room

skin tonesOk, seriously, I am so sick and tired of reading about colorblind love. “When I look at you, I don’t see color…BULL.SHIT. When I look at you, the first thing I notice is your color. Whether we’re willing to admit it or not, it’s a huge part of the attraction-or not. It’s either that contrast or that likeness which draws us to one another. Why are some writers so afraid to address color in their writings? You go through the painstaking task of describing his curly, blond locks, sea green eyes, aquiline nose, and chiseled jaw, yet he and the mahogany-skinned beauty never address their mutual attraction to each other because of the obvious differences in skin tone. For anyone to say when they see me they don’t see color is to deny me of my very existence. It’s who God made me. It’s not all that I am, but it is one of the first things you see when you meet me, and until you get to know me, the individual, I’m sure you lump all the preconceived notions about black women along with it…

I find it refreshing when I read about a couple who can openly dialogue about race and misconceptions and overcoming prejudices without pretending that they aren’t black or white or Latino or Asian. Many say race is a social construct, and I would sometimes agree, but simply choosing that it doesn’t exist, in fiction, and real life, only perpetuates the cycle of prejudice. I’m just sayin…

Speak On It

