Monday Musings: Erotica Vs. Romance

shara pic1

 

Is there a real difference? Can’t a body of work be romantic and highly erotic? I have posed this question many times, and each time I get a different answer, yet the general consensus seems to be this:

Romance is a story involving plot and character development in the midst of the couple falling in love (and having sex) while erotica is a sex-heavy story involving minimal plot and character development. Lemme just say: I THINK THIS IS BULLSHIT!

In my opinion, a good romance involves all three: Interesting plot, character development, and yummy sex scenes. When I say yummy sex scenes, I’m talking no-holds barred, descriptive sex. I don’t want to have to use my imagination dammit. I can do that without reading! I want my romance to show how the couple express themselves romantically and sexually. Now, if you ask someone else, they may say, nah girl, that’s erotica…What-eva.

Bottom line, I think the terms romance and erotica are a mere marketing ploy to attract a certain target group because I’ve read more than enough “romances” that have left me drier than the Sahara and countless “erotica” that were some of the sweetest romances ever….

 

Speak On It

