Tuesdays With: Theresa L. Henry!

I love this!
I love this!

I love meeting new authors (well, new to me!), and Theresa L. Henry is no exception. And what’s even more special is she hails from across the pond London, England! I initially discovered Theresa in the Facebook forums (see, they are handy for something other than gossip and fodder…), and when we created our own Facebook page, Ms. Henry was kind enough to show us love by allowing us to interview her. Read on friends…

Henry

MIRJ: First question I ask of all my authors is, Why IR?

TH: I didn’t consciously set out to write IR books. I only discovered the genre a relatively short time ago when I purchased my Kindle. Always an avid reader, having a Kindle enabled me to explore new genres, IR being one of them. At the time I was reading a lot of IR books so when I came up with the idea for Abandoned but not Alone, IR seemed like a natural way to go.

For those who have read, Abandoned but not Alone and The Ties that Bind, they will know all about the gorgeous Steve. I intend to write his story because I think he deserves his HEA. Therefore, I don’t intend to just write in one genre.

MIRJ:  Did you always know you wanted to be a writer? If not what made you want to become a writer?

TH: No, I didn’t always want to be a writer. In fact, I had no idea I could write fiction. If I had known, I would have started doing so long ago. Essentially, I’m just a woman who loves to read. Not unlike most avid readers, I thought I might have at least one book trapped inside my head; turns out I have many, who knew! I wrote Abandoned but not Alone because it’s the type of story I like to read. Turns out other people liked it as well, result!

Musing: That’s awesome! I think most readers have a burning desire to write, but are too afraid (me) or just don’t know where or how to start. You, my friend, are a real inspiration!

MIRJ: Tell us all about the latest book in the Kingdom Series.

TH: The fourth installment in the Kingdom series is called This Game Called Life. The book is about the eldest Kingdom brother, Jacob, aka Jake and his lady, MacKenzie. From their first meeting in book #2, For Love and Vengeance, Jake and MacKenzie haven’t seen eye to eye. This Game Called Life picks up exactly where, book #3, The Ties that Bind ends. MacKenzie is heavily pregnant with another man’s child and extremely hormonal, and that’s where the games begin!

Musing: Ooh wee! (I haven’t gotten to Book 3 yet)

MIRJ: Where did the idea come from to do this series?

TH: I didn’t intentionally set out to write a series. Let me explain: Abandoned but not Alone was my first attempt at writing anything unrelated to my job. I knew nothing about plotting and arcs, so I wrote the story as it came to me. As far as I was concerned, I was only going to write one book, but the ideas and the story kept growing.
So, in answer to this question; the Kingdoms became a series when I introduced Jason’s brothers into the mix. Once the two brothers and their father insinuated themselves into the story, I just couldn’t give them up, hence the Kingdom series.

Musing: Wow! You’re series is killing it for you not to have had this all planned out in advance. Kudos!

MIRJ: What can readers expect from you next?

TH: I’m already writing the fifth book in the series. I hope to have it ready in January 2015. Once this project is complete, I’m going to try my hand at writing some stand-alone books, which I’m really looking forward to. I have so many ideas already outlined that I’m not sure where to begin. What I do know is that whichever story I decide to write, it will be set in the UK. I’m a Londoner so I may as well use this wonderful city as a backdrop.
To round-off the Kingdom series, I’m going to write Jackson’s story for Christmas 2015. After all he’s been through, I think the silver fox deserves to find love. This book will also be the perfect opportunity for readers to catch up with the rest of the Kingdom clan.

Musing: Yay and yay! We love holiday reads 😀

MIRJ:  How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

TH: I’ve written four books. My favorite is my first offering, Abandoned but not Alone. This book will always be special to me because it was my first published novel, and because I love all of Jason and Aviva’s interactions and their special brand of chemistry. It is because of these characters that I started on this path which I love, and one that I hope will continue for many years to come.

MIRJ: What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writing and trying to publish your books?

TH: I self-publish so that part is easy. Once the book is formatted all that remains are a couple of clicks and it’s done. For me, words come relatively easily because I love to chat. I’ll talk to perfect strangers and end up asking them all kinds of personal and inappropriate questions. Some family members say I’m just nosy. Those who’ve accused me of this are probably right, I don’t mean to be, but honestly, I don’t care. I’m just interested in people.

Anyway, back to the question at hand: My main difficulty when writing is keeping the momentum of the story while developing three-dimensional characters. As a writer, I believe it’s important understand each character and live out their actions, and the situations in which they find themselves, figuratively speaking of course, to produce a cohesive story.

For me, this has been extremely challenging because the Kingdom men have so many of the same traits. Keeping each of the brothers distinctly different, while maintaining the characteristics of the alpha male can be a little daunting. P.S – I’m glad I managed to use the word ‘daunting’. One of my favorite words is, ‘Dauntless’. Say it out loud, it’s wonderful and the meaning is even better! Just thought I’d mention this. *wry shrug*

MIRJ: Being a Londoner, have you found it necessary to market your books any differently to your US audience?

TH: No, because 95% of my readership is in the US. If anything, it’s the other way around as I don’t sell that many books in the UK. I will readily admit that I’m terrible at marketing and promoting. The whole thing makes my head hurt and gives me palpitations, but I know it has to be done, so I do it.

Musing: I have so much respect for indie authors who not only write the book but then have the daunting (there’s that word!) task of promoting and getting the word out. This is one of the reasons we created our FB page-to take some of the pressure and burden off of the author, but more importantly, to make people aware that you exist and that you have wonderful books for sale!

MIRJ:  Do you write full-time?

TH: If only! No, I don’t write full-time. For now, being able to do so remains a wish for the future.

MIRJ: If the Kingdom series were being cast into a movie, who would your choices be for Jason and Aviva?

TH: Oh my, give me a moment while I have a think… Got it, had to do an Internet search though; Yaya DaCosta Alafia and a fair-haired, Henry Cavill.

Musing: Here for it!!!! Henry with something other than dark hair? Now that would be interesting!

Thank you so much for your time and your insight Theresa! I truly enjoyed speaking with you. I love interviewing authors and getting to know them on a more intimate level other than what you’d typically see on Facebook or other social media. Speaking of…Get to know Theresa L. Henry by connecting with her!

Facebook

Facebook Author Page

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Til next week friends…

One thought on “Tuesdays With: Theresa L. Henry!

Speak On It

