Monday Musing: U-N-I-T-Y

c70c4c45e959c89abf0a353f4937735f

But I ain’t seeing it in the IR community y’all! I’m not seeing it from all the authors who write the stories, and I damn sure don’t see it from the fans. If you are deep in the game as I’ve become over the last 2 years, you will know there are invisible lines of demarcation throughout. You have this sect who stay to themselves only and only promote within. Then you have this sect who go outside the fold to get the love they don’t get from their own fam. Then you have this sect who scheme and conspire to tear down other authors and/or groups who don’t conform to their agenda or who are seen as threats. Yeah, I said it because I’ve seen it, and I’ve experienced it. This ain’t rocket science. This genre is already a target that has become the literal bottomless pit of the romance genre. Got aliens? Stick it in IR. Got women fucking otherworldly beasts? Stick it in IR…

I have seriously tried to bridge the gap and bring some umoja to the IR genre via Facebook and this blog, but people ain’t feeling me. I don’t know if it’s because I speak candidly on topics that make some people uncomfortable, or because I have the balls to call bullshit when I see it. I don’t know. But what I do know for sure is that I can’t stop, won’t stop. I believe in this genre even when many don’t. We’re losing good authors who are going mainstream to sell titles and get validation because they can’t get it at home, and that saddens me.

I sure do hope things change for the better in 2015, but I’ma still do me regardless. I’ma still rep for the authors who show love to everybody and are inclusive and appreciative of the love they’re shown. I’ma still rep for the newbies because they need love too. I’ma rep for the old heads because they put this genre on the map. Basically I’ma rep for anybody who’s down period.

13 thoughts on “Monday Musing: U-N-I-T-Y

  1. It saddens me that posts like this have to be written but you speak the truth.

    I’m not sure what it is about the IR/MC genre that causes such division amongst authors and readers alike. Sometimes, it truly resembles a minority version of Mean Girls. “You can’t sit with us!”

    If one of us succeeds, we all succeed. People might not believe it but it’s true. We have so many talented authors in this genre. So many and they don’t get the opportunity to shine because we’re not about using our individual platforms to spotlight others.

    I’m new to the author game but not the genre. I’ve been avid reader for some time and I’ve seen the MG mentality. I get why some authors are hesitant to open up their arms to unknowns. They’ve been hurt, backstabbed, dragged through the mud by people they trusted. I get it. But we can’t continue to look backwards if we’re going to move forward and make this genre a force to be reckoned with.

    I do my best to embrace everyone. Not only the authors I love in the genre but new friends who’ve reached out and those outside the genre because I believe in networking.

    I hope that 2015 brings us closer together as opposed to further apart.

    1. I concur with Harper. We’re newbies together, with our debuts in the IR genre and we were fortunate to have linked earlier on in our editing process. We’ve supported each other, and like Harper noted, she has (as do I) support authors who do not write IR/MC. Why? Because it’s just common decency … it is the thing to do. WE ALL NEED HELP – from the seasoned stalwarts to the babies like myself. Lend a helping hand when you can, be genuine, and let’s all rise to the top together.

  2. There has to be a way to end the silent (and not so silent) hatred/competition/disrespect in this genre. There are too few of us as readers and writers of IR for us not to hold each other down. I can’t change anybody or make them realize that we’re stronger together than we are divided, but I’m like you; I’ll stay consistent on being real and reciprocating love on my end and hope that the notion of love and unity among the IR community begins to spread.

  3. IR Junkie, all I can do is this — http://media2.giphy.com/media/dOJt6XZlQw8qQ/giphy.gif cause you’ve hit the nail on top of the mickey fickey head with this post … again. Sad but true. We need to take a page from our POTUS and learn to reach across the aisle. As I always say, there’s always room for everyone because the last time I checked READERS read more than one author and love (and hello, BUY) novels from more than one author. Bravo for this in your face and REAL post. Shared it on my Facebook page.

  4. I agree with everyone here. A win for one of us is a win for ALL of us. Readers are thirsty for IR. There isn’t enough of it–at all. This genre isn’t saturated and readers need every single one of us. They burn through novels so quick and are left with the ultimate question of what’s next? With the selection being as limited as it is there’s no reason for competition. I hope 2015 will be more unity within the genre. We really do need each other 🙂

  5. I absolutely agree with everything you wrote! A LOT has happened this year, but I am still so optimistic. I believe 2015 will be a great year for both the authors and readers of the IR genre. I’m ride of die right now (lol). I LOVE reading and writing Interracial Romance. I can’t wait for 2015! I am so excited and ready to uplift the new and existing authors and bloggers for this genre (That I know have the same respect and love for this genre that I do) and I’m even more excited to contribute to the genre myself with the stories I write. Great post as usual!!

  6. Great post.

    I’ve always written Multicultural Romance and falling into the Interracial theme was as natural as breathing.

    I’ve been privileged to meet some terrific authors along the way and have found amazing support within the genre.

    Overall authors support authors, that’s what we do, and we will do it with dignity and respect for each others work.

  7. I’m just now dipping my toes into IRR, but I can say that this type of conflict occurs when people operate under a “scarcity” mindset. You’re always thinking there are finite resources (or readers), therefore you must defend, attack, and fight for that (perceived) tiny bit for yourself. There is no unity if you live with the thoughts that you’ve got to be out for yourself or you’ll have nothing, or that reaching out to someone will steal what little you have. In turn, this permeates the reader community, who erect the barriers for their favorite authors and/or jockey for position as #1 Fan to gain author approval.

    A great majority, if not all, of IRR is self-published or micro-press published. This isn’t traditional publishing and brick and mortar booksellers, where AA/IR/MC romance authors were told there’s no room for them in the inn or that the few books that did get picked up weren’t good enough for mainstream attention. The wounds and battle scars from this unfair practice and untruth need to be let go because they have no place in 2014. That’s what they said and tried to make authors and readers believe, but the multitude of successful authors (and amazing books) prove they have no idea what they are talking about.

  8. I have three points I need to say. 1. I hate these short stories also I like a full story and I don’t mind paying for it but I REFUSE to pay for a fifty page book. 2. I am SICK of this billionaire thing that’s going on also where the black woman has to be rescued and don’t get me started on some of this other crap people are writing. 3. I am sick of this cliff hanger mess finish a FREAKING book. I love IR preferably BW/WM all I ask is do right by your readers

Speak On It

