My Top Ten Books of 2014

Top-10-Defined-Contribution-ArticlesI was having a convo with some friends on Facebook last night, and we were talking about all these high profile romance top 10 lists for 2014. Not surprisingly, there wasn’t a single interracial or African-American romance on the list. You can ask yourself why, but deep down we know why even if we don’t want to admit it…

With that being said, I thought long and hard about what my top 10 would look like. I’ve literally read hundreds of books this year, and this was a relatively easy decision. My criteria was simple:

  1. Enjoyment factor
  2. Good plot
  3. Actual romance (okay, sex dammit)
  4. Likeable characters (even the assholes)
  5. Re-readable (muy importante!)

So I give you my Top 10 Romances of 2014 (in no particular order):

81-mqYHZbfL._SL1500_
Probably one of the most slept-on books of the year. Compelling storyline; sexy, loveable hero; likeable, relate-able heroine; foreign locale; just the total package
This was an everyman who wasn't rich. He was actually down and out and rebuilding his life, but he knew how to treat a woman and was sexy as hell. The heroine was also very like!
This was an everyman who wasn’t rich. He was actually down and out and rebuilding his life, but he knew how to treat a woman and was sexy as hell. The heroine was also very like!
This is actually a serial-a beautiful, wonderfully-written serial that is the hidden gem of IR romance. So many readers lament about quickies or series, but I personally enjoy them, and when the characters are so well-written, you actually look forward to the next installment.
This is actually a serial-a beautiful, wonderfully-written serial that is the hidden gem of IR romance. So many readers lament about quickies or series, but I personally enjoy them, and when the characters are so well-written, you actually look forward to the next installment.
This was a beautifully written, picturesque historical that felt like present day in a sense. The hero was dashing, albeit somewhat asshole-y at times, but that's what endeared me to him. And the locale...whew!
This was a beautifully written, picturesque historical that felt like present day in a sense. The hero was dashing, albeit somewhat asshole-y at times, but that’s what endeared me to him. And the locale…whew!
I have been fangirling over this book since I read it. This is also a historical. Set in the 1930's, it features some actual historical figures with a wild storyline. Beautifully written with a swoon-worthy ending.
I have been fangirling over this book since I read it. This is also a historical. Set in the 1930’s, it features some actual historical figures with a wild storyline. Beautifully written with a swoon-worthy ending.
This was author Lolah Lace's first stand alone book, and she did not disappoint. Lukas was a very sexy, albeit cocky (literally ha ha) blue collar hero. And I love stories where the h/h hate each other in the beginning then come together unconventionally
This was author Lolah Lace’s first stand alone book, and she did not disappoint. Lukas was a very sexy, albeit cocky (literally ha ha) blue collar hero. And I love stories where the h/h hate each other in the beginning then come together unconventionally
This book had me consumed from the first page! What would you do if you found out the man you've fallen in love with is not only a felon but a white supremacist? This is a thinking woman's romance. What would you do? Does love truly conquer all? Hmmmm...
This book had me consumed from the first page! What would you do if you found out the man you’ve fallen in love with is not only a felon but a white supremacist? This is a thinking woman’s romance. What would you do? Does love truly conquer all? Hmmmm…
This story was epic-literally! One of the most angst-filled, romantic, teary, sensual reads ever. You will immediately fall in love with Emmet Grayne.
This story was epic-literally! One of the most angst-filled, romantic, teary, sensual reads ever. You will immediately fall in love with Emmet Grayne.
OMG, this guy Sloane Stryker (ok, that name y'all) is all that! Homeless vet, down on his luck but proud and good with hands-in every sense of the word. Very likeable heroine; poignant, romantic story.
OMG, this guy Sloane Stryker (ok, that name y’all) is all that! Homeless vet, down on his luck but proud and good with hands-in every sense of the word. Very likeable heroine; poignant, romantic story.
You know what? This book had me in wonderful knots from beginning to end. Although this is book 3 in a trilogy, it could technically be read as a standalone. AJ and Sam had to fight to be together since Day 1 and this story was the cherry on top. Highly romantic and sensually erotic without the theatrics of a raunchy sex scenes. You will fall in love with AJ as I have.
You know what? This book had me in wonderful knots from beginning to end. Although this is book 3 in a trilogy, it could technically be read as a standalone. AJ and Sam had to fight to be together since Day 1 and this story was the cherry on top. Highly romantic and sensually erotic without the theatrics of a raunchy sex scenes. You will fall in love with AJ as I have.

So there you have it! These are my top 10 books of 2014, and I have a shitload of honorable mentions. Who is in your top 10? Do we share any of the same books? I’d love to know who your faves were.

Have a safe and happy new year! See ya in 2015!

17 thoughts on “My Top Ten Books of 2014

  1. Great list!!!! I love your breakdown for criteria on choosing the books. I love that because we were excluded you immediately came up with a way to create your own list that includes us all. Next year we have to start creating a way for ourselves.

  2. I like your top 10 and I have all the books except for Felina series which I can get on KU. I have read all the books except for 4 which I hope to do in 2015. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

      1. LOL……….you know me Patrice, my TBR pile is huge! However, I am hopeful I will get around to reading them them all. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m so happy I made the list. Thank you so much. I was looking for some other IR authors to read. So I will be checking out the books you plugged by Kim Golden, Raven St. Pierre, Ancelli and the others in 2015.

  4. Tethered is a classic I read that now just because of the wonderful story telling. Not Always I love that one also because it wasn’t a far fetched story line. An Incarcerated loved it can’t wait for the other story that’s coming out from this book it was a very intriguing read and I couldnt get enough

Speak On It

