Monday Musings: I Wanna Read More Stories About…

1280x

  • Older women/younger men: Yes, we exist. We fall in love. Sometimes with men younger than us. We’ve seen countless stories of men in their 40’s bagging post-pubescent 21 year olds and there’s no eww, but when it’s a woman, she’s all of a sudden a “cougar” (I loathe that word in this context btw) and gross. Please…
  • Stronger female protagonists: Enough of the broken, down and out, doesn’t find herself til she gets the guy tropes please.
  • Older couples in love: I love stories where a dude in his 40’s meets a woman in her actual 40’s, and they are both virile and sexy and fall in love. Yeah, it’s a lot of us out here..Since 40 is the new 20, let’s see some more stories!
  • Monoracial black women: No hateration, but I don’t know if this is a trend, an attempt to be more “universally appealing” to prospective readers, a reflection of the cultural changes in today’s society, or some warped sense of qualifying a black woman’s beauty by making her ethnically mixed, but I’d like to read more stories about black women-women of the African diaspora who self-identify as black.
  • Blue collar guys: Love ’em! I like reading about men who work with their hands and aren’t tied to a corporation and whose life isn’t his occupation. Just sayin…
  • Epilogues: Yes, epilogues, especially in stand-alones. I wanna know what happens to the couple after all the drama of finally getting together. Do they have kids? Do they buy the house with the picket fence? The epilogue is the cherry on top and my sundae just ain’t a sundae without the cherry…

What are some of the things you’d like to see in romance? More of? Less of?

14 thoughts on “Monday Musings: I Wanna Read More Stories About…

  1. I write all that… Arabella, older woman, younger men… most of my women are african american with dark complexions… they are also go getters who handle business… I will work on more epilogues…;)

  2. I’m with you on the broken female trope, and I am super tired of the super old dude with a chick fresh out of diapers. That needs to just stop!

  3. Can we just see more stand alone novels? I am so over the series and serials. I want one full story wrapped in a pretty little bow.

    Also, I’m so with you on the cougar deal. Puma sounds sexier… ha! πŸ˜€

  4. The monoracial black women irritate me. Cause if they dont have long straight hair or long curly hair (assuming they are biracial) then they have green eyes!! Wtf…
    The only author I’ve read with a herione with “black” hair texture was Mallory Monroe. I happen to have lovely locs in my hair and get compliments from white guys often. They probably want to pull it and cross it off their bucket list **wink*wink**.
    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE BLUE COLLAR GUYS!!
    #lolahlace…she is a bad blue collar b*tch!! I have recommended her books soo many times. The dress shoes type guys dont do it for me. Unless its Ray Donovan…but I digress.
    I’ll skip the older woman/younger man. No interest at all.
    But…I definitely loves me some epilogues. Every book should have them.

    ***sorry for the long post.***

  5. I was in a RWA group back in 2004. I asked one well-established writer about cowboy romances (Harlequin). She said her publisher didn’t want those any more, just corporate office types who lived in cities like London and were big wigs. But after all these years, I see cowboy (or Western) romance still selling in epubs.

  6. Less of these 85 page books like can you really tell a good story in that little of time and please please stop the series story my New Years resolution is to stop spending my hard earned coins on cliff hangers not here for it but these are just my quirks

  7. So agree with your post about women thirty-five and up being featured as protagonists in romance novels. Being more mature myself, I prefer reading about couples closer to my age. Twenty-something is in my rear-view mirror and has been for quite some time.

  8. Well, you know, I always end up writing about men who are NOT billionaires. πŸ™‚ Mads was a furniture maker/carpenter who was doing sperm donations to make ends meet. Jake was a photojournalist who specialized in combat zones… my new guy, Henrik, is a lawyer. I like guys who are regular Joes. πŸ™‚

    I am tired of reading about billionaires and tycoons.

Speak On It

