Monday Musings: Codeword: Diversity

Diversity II

“Diversity” is such a buzzword, and as soon as I hear or see it, I immediately think, Ok, someone is being racist or prejudiced about something…I’ve been thinking about this word a lot and how it applies to me and this blog, and it could be argued that I lack diversity when it comes to the romance I choose to read and blog about. I could also counter that argument and say that my blog brings to attention the lack of diversity displayed by the more popular, mainstream blogs. But my point is, I have decided to diversify my reading choices somewhat. Now, I’m not abandoning my sistas in anyway because I will always rep to the death, but what I am saying is that I will commit to read at least one, non-BW interracial romance story a month, review it, and blog about it. I am sure I am missing out on so many great stories, so I’m going to remedy that starting now.

Navaeh Lee

Up first is a book that I’ve actually had in my TBR (to be read) pile for months. I’ve had a few interactions with this author on Facebook, and she’s a very sweet lady. So, without further ado, my first book in my Diversity Challenge is Collaboration by Nevaeh Lee. Collaboration is the story of a rapper and a country music princess. I’m beyond intrigued…I’ll have this book read and review posted by or before January 31st.

I’m currently on the lookout for some good non-BW IR reads. If you know of any, please post your suggestions in the comments. I need 11 more to read!

6 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Codeword: Diversity

  1. What genre do you plan on tackling? My Kindle is diverse so I have lots of reads I can recommend. It’ll be great to get your take on them!

    1. Harper I agree I have so many books that are polar opposites it’s not even funny. A good read is a good read.

      1. Patrice, definitely check out LC Morgan’s books. They feature Native American heroines.

        CoCo, lol I’m so darn fickle with my reads as of late. I just need to make it through my TBR pile before I buy newer stuff but if the synopsis catches me, I’m sold!

  2. I love this post! I love that you are diversifying and you know I have plenty of books that I suggest you read. Lol I think you are bringing postive attention to a genre that is often overlooked and at times not taken seriously. I can’t wait to read your reviews.

Speak On It

