Monday Musings: I’m Makin’ Moves!

editing-1024x1024

I love books! I love to read books! But interestingly enough, I love to analyze and break down the books I read, as in what worked for me. What didn’t. How that passage have been written more effectively. Were there any unanswered questions? You know that kind of stuff…It’s gotten to the point where I can barely read a book for the enjoyment. It’s maddening and thrilling at the same time, so I’ve decided to do something about it: I’m going back to school! To learn the mechanics of editing! Yes, ya girl wants to be a book editor!

It may sound like hard work and boring stuff, but I’m a pretty boring person so it works for me. But more importantly, I want to help writers realize their potential. I cannot tell you how many poorly-written books I’ve read be it spelling and grammar, plot, characterization, or an unfortunate combination of all of the above. I have wanted to reach out to these authors, but I have no credentials, and I don’t want to offend anyone. “Hey, I see your book has a lot of negative reviews because of poor editing. Work with me…” I wish…

I’m really excited for this next phase in my life. I hate school with a passion, but I’m so determined to do this. It’s only one class so far, so we’ll see how it goes. Maybe we can work together someday soon πŸ˜‰

And on another note, Happy MLK Day! I’ll be doing some local volunteering with some friends. Should be fun πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Monday Musings: I’m Makin’ Moves!

  1. editing sounds like a perfect fit for you. Editors have to like finding nit-picky tiny things nobody else would notice. and they have to have a pleasant personality to convince the author to see their way and change it. good luck! nothing is better than a good editor to make a weak writer into a strong one!

  2. OMG!! This is so exciting!! Congrats on taking such a big step towards doing what you love. 2015 is the start of big, wonderful journeys, I’ve been saying that. lol. Oh, and beta reading and talking to working editors about how they got started can’t hurt either. Beta reading may be a quicker process, but if you’re thorough and do a good job with your notes I can’t see why that wouldn’t gain you trust when you start charging. πŸ™‚

Speak On It

