Thursday Thoughts: Finding Good IR Romance Is Like Mining For Gold

 

Thursday ThoughtsCause I got some shit on my mind that just can’t wait til Monday Musings

This week’s thought was inspired by a convo I had last week with a writer/friend of mine whom I can shoot the shit with very honestly and uninhibitedly. The bottom line is this:

I have but one simple request: Tag your books appropriately please!!!

  1. Do not tag your books as romance when there is none. One damn kiss and not a drop of intimacy sex is not romance. That’s just some fiction.
  2. Do not not tag your books as romance when there is no HEA (happily ever after) or HFN (happy for now). While your book me be full of romance and bliss, if it doesn’t end on the same note, your readers will eat you alive. Trust me. I’ve seen it.
  3. Do not tag your books IR just because your white heroine’s BFF is a POC, but she doesn’t have a man or her man is the same race as she is. Two female BFFs of a different race don’t make your book IR boo. (Yes, I have seen this mess.)
  4. Do not tag your books IR because one of the main characters is a shape-shifting dragon, but he’s a white man in human form and your heroine is a white woman. That ain’t IR. Girl bye…
  5. Do not take your reader’s intelligence for granted. We’re a lot smarter than you give us credit for, and we do talk amongst ourselves, but I also talk publicly. As you can see…
5 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Finding Good IR Romance Is Like Mining For Gold

  1. Hi,
    I agree with you. Those things tick me off too. I hate it when I buy a romance novel and it’s not romance or doesn’t have a HEA. These are good points, and I AGREE……..

  2. I agree! Love the meme. When I think of romance I equate that with a happily ever after. And that’s what I look for. Reading is an escape for me. Have I read books without hea and enjoyed them? Yes but it wasn’t tagged as romance and the author for warned readers. And that one kiss is what I call clean romance very low heat almost a Hallmark channel love. I know intimacy isn’t just sex but I love sex in my books. But there is an audience for such things I’m just not in that group

Speak On It

