Private Affairs: A Review

Private AffairsPrivate Affairs by Jasmine Garner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is my first read by author Jasmine Garner (I actually own a couple of her other books that I haven’t read yet), and this story got me all up in arms! This is one of those stories that starts off innocently enough, but soon takes a spiral. I’m not saying downward, but more like sideways. This story has more twists than a honey BBQ Frito!

fit-throwing.gif.pagespeed.ce.z-NBtQDqa2

So, the story begins with BFFs Kevin and Keisha attending a wedding where Keisha is a last-minute bridesmaid fill in for some chick who had to drop out, and who but her cheating ex-fiance is her partnered groomsmen. Keisha and Wes broke up some years ago because she caught him red-handed cheating, but to this day, he maintains his innocence. As the reader, you don’t know what or who to believe because Keisha dipped when she caught him, and when I say dipped, ol’ girl practically disappeared without a trace. Seeing Wes again brings up a bunch of bittersweet memories, but apparently more sweet than bitter because they screw like rabbits-even though Keisha is dead set against having anything more to do with him. Yeah ok girl, I see you…And all the weeping and tear-shedding was just grating on my hardened nerves.

10615577_10152830101833945_3174494370191908592_n
Now, initially, this story had me hella pissed because I thought Keisha was the dumbest damn broad ever. She’s so distraught and heartbroken over Wes’s betrayal, yet she kept letting him lay the pipe whenever he touched her. Had me like:

10636042_890641477614252_6213384520152258673_n

Keisha literally left her life when she found out he was cheating and then tried to get over him by hooking up with all these randoms she met through online dating sites (Steven was a freaking nutjob…). But once Wes was back in the picture, Keisha’s lust got the better of her, then magically, everything was not so bad after all…hmmm…

IMG_314662753880336
I was really ready to write Keisha and this story off because I didn’t think she had the sense of a gnat, but then things started to take an interesting turn, and this is where I will stop because I don’t want to give away the rest of the story. I will just say everyone and everything is not what they seem. Your heart will soon race, and you won’t be able to swipe your Kindle fast enough to find out what the hell happens next. I found the first half of the book really frustrating, but the remaining half…oooh wee-through me for a roller coaster loop! Click it up!

Sean-Connery-Fist-Pump-US-Open

6 thoughts on “Private Affairs: A Review

  1. I have no idea what I’m getting myself into, but I’m reading the book ASAP because your review has KILT me! LMAO!!!!

    *Still cryin’ @ “Really, Bitch? Really?”*

Speak On It

