Monday Musing: I Have Been In Reading Hell!!!!

imagesI will usually power through a book no matter how bad it is because a big part of me truly appreciates a writer’s efforts. If they’re brave enough to present their work to the masses, then I should be brave or patient enough to read it to the end, but I SWEAR TO GOD that I have abandoned a record 5 books in the last week because I was so offended not only as a woman, but as a black person by the shit I’ve read. Allow me to share with you:

Black woman tells white man: “I’ve dated black guys, but I’ve never liked how they treated me.”tumblr_mweldce1Nq1qd5txyo6_r1_250Now these words were written by a white, male author, and before you think to yourself, “Hmph, not surprised…” or “Wow”, just know that I have read the same statement in one form or another by black, female authors as well. This angers me on a level that you cannot even begin to comprehend. I could devote an entire blog post to this but maybe another time…Just…NO. Please don’t do this. Do not put down an entire race of men to justify or “introduce” this interracial coupling.

***

White men, usually the hero, using the “N” word freely because he was raised by a black family, or in a black neighborhood, or because he was given a “pass.”IMG_314654687413051I don’t give a gotdamn who this white man is. If he is the love interest of this black woman and he’s spouting the “N” word, and she ain’t checking him, this book is an immediate DNF, and I am side-eying the hell out of the author. To clarify, I am not referring to non-black characters who are openly and admittedly racist in the narrative and that kind of talk is essential to who that character is and the role they play, but those characters who are the love interests of the black heroine.

***

Dumb broads: Just the kind who don’t have a friggin clue. They’re in love with their male BFF, but instead of exploring the possibility of a relationship out of fear of ruining the friendship if the relationship doesn’t work out, she pretends that she doesn’t have feelings for him and for more than 50% of the book, she’s lusting from a distance while he pursues a relationship with someone else or he strings her along until he makes up his mind. I.CAN.NOT.

Girl Bye

This is what I get for clicking new books instead of reading from my already bulging TBR. I was lured and enticed by a hot cover and a tricked out blurb, but it was all smoke and mirrors. I’m sticking to my TBR (yeah, right…)

 

16 thoughts on “Monday Musing: I Have Been In Reading Hell!!!!

  1. Fantastic post as usual. I’ve read plenty of books like the third one and felt the same, but I have never … NEVER read anything with the first two! I would have thrown my kindle across the room! Who ..why …what in the … I’m speechless … and admittedly little amused (The gifs you used got me). lbvs Lol, great blog post today!

    1. Yes hunty, I have read that n-word scenario more than once. One was an urban IR and the other wasn’t. To say my mouth hit the floor was an understatement. And the fact that these books continue to receive favorable reviews is beyond me :/

  2. Real talk: What you explained is exactly why it’s hard to get new readers to try interracial romance. People rely on stereotypes and or racist tropes to make a story work. Why? Why? WHY?!

    From a reader perspective, I want to be lured in by the characters. Make me care about em. If one makes questionable decisions that’s okay because it’s true to life, but if 50-70% of the book is filled with questionable decisions? Nah, I can’t do it. Like you, I try to give new to me authors a chance, but for the most part I stick to what I already have on my Kindle. You get burned enough, you learn.

    As an author, I’m like… *headdesk*
    We can do better for the genre. I repeat, WE CAN DO BETTER. No need to put down black men to uplift a white hero. No need to have the heroine not make a lick of sense throughout the entire book. No need to fall back on stereotypes to push a storyline forward. We can write whatever the heck we want but we also have to remember readers deserve better. They spend their money with certain expectations in mind. We owe them better.

  3. The first one..had the pleasure of reading that a few weeks ago. I shut down my ereader with a resounding “NOPE! I will not!”. All I could think was WHY?? The third scenario really hit home because I’m reading it right now and the amount of deep sighs I’m doing is killing my good mood! And the second scenario? I’d have to send the author a sternly worded letter for that bullshit!!!

  4. I just read one where the female had a untreatable STD and they was treating it like it was cold no let me correct myself a cold you take more precaution. I was reading it thinking where they do this at someone completely slept through sex- Ed also the female lead didn’t want to be identified as a black woman another pet peeve with these stories. I said this is all kind of disrespectful to me as a black woman. This genre has went completely down the last couple months I am hoping it gets back on track because it’s one of my faves.

    1. You know Nic, I am reading at of stories also where the heroine doesn’t identify as black or acknowledge her blackness in some capacity. I mean damn, who do these authors think are reading their stories for the most part? You have no problem tagging your books IR or BWWM but more and more the woman is not monoracial. Is this an attack on biracial multiracial women? Of course not, but don’t insult me by playing both sides of the fence and not think you haven’t been seent!

      1. That’s exactly why-they want to play both sides of the fence. They want the audience of IR (mainly BW) but want the option to market in other genres which still avoid “ethnic” characters. Somehow, people think a biracial person more palatable.

        I don’t have anything against multiracial heroines/heroes-in fact a well drawn one would be nice. But too often it’s done as an obvious attempt to make the heroine seem better than ‘just black’. Urban novels do this too. I read several in the past year where the heroine was mixed black/white; black/Asian to explain everything from why her hair was nice (WTF) to why she was sophisticated and smart. Threw the books across the e-room. If you’re going to do a multiracial character commit to it in a real sense. If she’s Mixed Black and Chinese, for example, then have actual scenes with her Chinese relatives or friends and make it a real part of the story tied to the plot. Write like being multicultural is part of her experience.

        Or don’t do it at all and see the beauty and value in being Black.

  5. My pet peeve is when the author says the female character is black but doesn’t describe her. Is she dark skin, light skin, medium brown?? What because just telling me she’s black isn’t good enough.

  6. I loved this post and all the comments. It was a very interesting conversation for me. Thanks for bringing these subjects to light.

Speak On It

