Monday Musings: When Admiration Turns Into Obsession

THIS IS A TONGUE-IN-CHEEK POST

obsessed

It’s real y’all. You ever read an author’s work, and you love it so much, that you click up all their books? Then you gobble those down like a pack of Skittles. And after you’re finished those, you’re only left with a bunch of acknowledgments and thank-yous at the end of the last book. If you’re super lucky, they may include a sneak peek of their work in progress (or is it process?) which only fuels the obsession. No? You haven’t? Then you ain’t reading the right people!

I can easily name a handful of authors that I stalk am constantly waiting on the next damn book to drop! I’m on their FB wall, their twitter feed, their website, wherever they have a social media presence scoping, and I’m a selfish bastard. I don’t wanna hear about your 9-5, or your family obligations, or your writers block delaying the release of your next book. YOU did this to me. If your books sucked ass then I wouldn’t have to write this post and shade you on my twitter feed for taking too long, teehee…

5 thoughts on “Monday Musings: When Admiration Turns Into Obsession

  1. LOL healthy obsession is good. Just don’t turn into Kathy Bates in Misery. Got authors clutching their pearls! LMAO

  2. Stop writing about MY life! LMAO! It’s not like I don’t have eleventy-hundred books to read – I NEED books from that one author! LOL!

    You’re a crazy lady! 😉

  3. OMG!!! This is my life! I’m ashamed to admit how many times I’ve looked at my fave authors’ social media hoping for some type of fix…some mention of when the next book is due or an excerpt. Give me something! I’m high fiving you at “I don’t want to know why the book is late…” Give me the book, now darnit!

Speak On It

