Monday Musings: I’m Done

I give up

Inspired by my girl Sharonda over at Brazen Babe Reviews

I’ve struggled for a few weeks whether to even post this or not because I feel there is a time and place for everything. I think when you’re trying to cultivate a brand or at least maintain some air of professionalism, then you just have to suck some things up and take the L. But dammit, I’ve sucked up more shit than a Dyson, and I’ve got to empty it out!

Let me state for the record: I do not blog for profit (Not yet anyway). Nor do I blog for favor. I do this because I fucking love romance novels and reading about women who look like and represent me!

FB_IMG_1440708978233

With that being said, I am no longer entertaining authors who do not reciprocate the love I show for them. What do I mean by that? This means I get quite a few requests for spotlights or blog tours or what have you, and I most often comply because, let’s keep it real for a moment, there are not a lot of outlets for authors who write about black love (whether it’s AA, MC, or IR) to get some shine, and THIS is why I so readily agree to promote their work. I do not charge for this (like some of the bigger, more popular blogs do.) I do not ask for a free book (cause I truly loathe writing reviews, but I make it a mission to review every ARC I receive). All I expect (because I don’t ask because foolish me, I assume it would be a given) is that if I spotlight you or share your tour or new release (either at your request or through a formal sign up) is that you share my post or link to it somewhere on your social media. This is how I get paid in a sense. I’m giving you free press, so all I’m asking is the same in return, but like Biggie, I gets nathannnnnnnnnn.

I’ve said enough. I feel much better now…kinda. I’m just letting it be known that this is the deal going forward.

And to the authors (and dedicated readers) who always have my back: Love y’all!

tumblr_inline_mq6qu3symo1qz4rgp

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Monday Musings: I’m Done

  1. LOL, these gifs are everything!

    I always have your back. You’ve supported me from the very beginning Patrice, and I believe in paying it forward. I help those who help me. Like you, I’ve also let go of people I supported who have shown me nothing but their backs. Doesn’t take long for me to become hip to the game.

    Only leaving room for the positive energy flow from now on.

  2. It’s a sad commentary, but unfortunately it needed to be said. I get it – the struggle to be able to write fulltime AND be successful is real – but you do not accomplish it ALONE. I have stopped following some authors because the arrogance and disrespect just got to be too much. Still wish them well…but it won’t be happening on my dime or with my time.

  3. Lol I’m going with the I shed light. I’m scrolling through twitter and I see this had to check it out. It’s one of those things that you think everyone knows like thank you when someone holds the door for you.

    Authors/pub/tour hosts do this for $ most bloggers do not. Things to let the person know I see you, I appreciate you like sharing your own spotlight/review whatever goes a long way.

    BC we def notice bad behavior 😉

Speak On It

