Monday Musings: I’m Baaaack…With Some News

tumblr_inline_nw3ecz50EC1r2ly93_500Side note: Viola fucking slays in this gif!

Okay, so I didn’t mean to be all cryptic with my sudden departure last month. I was feeling a little overwhelmed with not only my 9-5, but with this new venture that I’m launching in 2016 (Well I’ve actually already started). I’m so excited, yet so nervous at the same time, but I refuse to live any longer with regrets and/or what-ifs.

I’ve lived a great deal of my life just existing and not taking risks and just being complacent because it was safe. Them days is over!!! Many of my author friends know that I love to beta read. Since I’m having a moment of complete honesty and transparency, I’m going to tell you something: I initially got into beta reading for the free read. Yes, I was shameless, but the more I actually read, the more focused I became on being a good beta reader and not just a troll looking for a free book. With all of this being said, it is my pleasure to formally introduce you to:

 

PNG

Yes, my friends, I am branching out into editing-books, periodicals, web content, you name it. I am in it to win it. Little Pear has been a dream in the making really since January of this year. I’ve successfully completed writing and editing courses at my local, accredited community college this past April, and yeah…I’m doing this. I won’t go into all the intricate details because I am working on Little Pear’s website as we speak, but I wanted to let you all know what’s going on in my world.

So why did I name my business Little Pear? Two reasons: Pears are succulent, sweet, and delicious, like me (snark), but more importantly, I wanted to honor the one human being who means the world to me: My niece Peri. We call her Pear for short, and she’s hundreds of miles away on the left coast. Naming something I love and have a deep passion for keeps her close, and I want her to know that she has meaning in my life beyond just being my niece.

And there you have it! I’d like to give a special shout out to author Xyla Turner who took a chance with me and gave me my first editing job. The Power Of The Pen is now available, and yeah, I’m quite proud of my debut. Check it out!

51KvxvZinNL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_

33 thoughts on “Monday Musings: I’m Baaaack…With Some News

  1. Well, congratulations! I wish you lots and lots of success. I know how it feels to branch out and do something you love but you are afraid of. You took the first step, which is the hardest!πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜

  2. Congratulations! I understand the feeling of fear, stepping out into the unknown. I’m on a similar journey. I’ve been in the background reading your posts for months now, enjoying your content and your support to all the authors. I have no doubt you’ll be an excellent editor!

  3. Well, well, well, *standing ovation slow clap*

    LOL, I’m so proud AND thrilled for you!!!! Congrats Patrice. THIS IS AWESOMEEEEEEEEEE!!!

  4. Congratulations to you! I’m so happy for you. What a great feeling it is.To pursue your dreams and passions. Wishing you great success in your next chapter in life. God Bess!

  5. That’s awesome! I’m very proud of you for stepping out on faith and taking a chance. It ain’t easy, but YOU DID THAT! I wish you much success and I can’t wait to see where this takes you! *smooches* ❀

  6. That is awesome! I am so excited!!!! Okay… You know I could use all the help I can get!!! I need details!!! Call me or message me.

    Peace & Blessings
    Rika Lewis

  7. So excited to hear this! So far the editors I’ve used in the past have been white and didn’t know a thing about AAVE lol. So best believe I will be hitting you up on one of my next projects!

Speak On It

