OFF THE GRID: TEA & ME

Tea & Me

After all the drama that transpired on this “whack” blog this week, I wanted to talk about something very near and dear to my heart, and that is tea. I love it! I drink it like it’s going out of business, and I much prefer it to the taste of coffee. I will drink it hot, lukewarm, or iced. I love just about all flavors and blends, and I’m constantly on a quest to tickle my taste buds. Now all you coffee lovers, get out ya feels right now. This ain’t about you right now. I enjoy coffee, but I just love tea ok?

20151230_131031

I think my mini obsession started when I was a child. We had two beverages in the fridge at all times: Kool-Aid and iced tea. Man, if that ain’t a stereotypical, black household thing, I don’t know what is lol. But I own it! My stepfather would make the iced tea so sweet, that it was literally liquid diabetes. I would actually dilute it by half and fill my glass to the brim with ice cubes and it still was too sweet for my liking. These days, I either drink my tea unsweetened or with a teaspoon or two (max) of sugar (not artificial sweetener).

As I got older, my tastes got a little more sophisticated. I graduated to the bougie spicy, exotic, yet affordable blends like Bigelow. On the real, sometimes, I’ll take a couple of these tea bags and brew them  for room fresheners. They are potent!

20151230_131051

Now that I’m in my 40’s, my tastes are much more refined (Don’t get it twisted, I will drink the hell outta some Lipton’s). I found this wonderful tea maker called Tea Drops, and it is founded and operated by a woman of color!

20151230_131150

The teas are loose and individually pressed and wrapped and come either in a biodegradable box or these cool ass wooden boxes (which I am accumulating by the month!) The flavors are crazy delicious like cardamom spice, citrus ginger, and an herbal assortment.

20151230_131403

I enjoy a cup, or two every morning or when I’m busy reading and/or editing. Tea is the nectar of the book addicts!

20151230_145547

7 thoughts on “OFF THE GRID: TEA & ME

  1. I understand your love…for me it’s coffee. I got enticed by the smells of Irish Cream, Hazelnut, Mocha way back in university when I used to study in the music building’s café. Been hooked ever since!☕

  2. I love tea too. My favorite brands are Harney & Sons, Tazo and Numi,
    I have a giant basket of tea in our kitchen. When I come home with new flavors, hubby is like “What’s wrong with all the tea in the basket?” 😀

    Will check out Tea Drops. That looks yummy!

  3. I love tea and coffee too. My faves are Twinings Lady Grey, Yorkshire Tea, and Glengettie tea. If you haven’t tried those I highly recommend them!

  4. It’s ironic that I’m drinking lemon chamomile tea as I read this – cuz’ I’m a die-hard coffee fool…usually 2…3 pots a day – but a sinus infection will make you go back to the old home remedies. LOL!

    We had the two pitchers in the fridge too when I was growing up – only it was the Koolaid that had a five pound bag of sugar in each pitcher…and probably why I’ve never, EVER bought Koolaid into my house since being an adult. My children thought they were mistreated because they had to “settle” for Tang, milk and the occasional Capri Sun! LMAO!

Speak On It

