Monday Musings: Falling Out Out Of Love With An Author

A period of reflection or thought

***DEEPLY SIGHS***

This has happened to me too frequently lately, and I am somewhat unsettled. All it takes is one, or two, or maybe even three books written by an author you love that just leave you feeling some type of way-and not in a good way. It sometimes isn’t even be book-related, but something an author says or does on social media or in life that just turns you completely off, and you’re like, “I’m done…”

tumblr_inline_n74kje0XJd1sycbpy

When I first started reading romance, it was for pure escapism. Plot and characterization were never an issue. As long as the couple were hittin’ the skins, and I got an HEA, I was in love with the book-and the author. So what happened? The starry-eyed fog cleared out, and I was left with two truths: Either the books weren’t all that great to begin with (Now I know liking or disliking any art form is subjective, but I also know what I like and what I don’t like), or I harbored some sort of false hero worship of the author. I would follow every social media account, join every romance group, and rate or review almost every book. Basically I was a stalker hiding in plain sight.

lip bite-longing

I’ve been reading romance novels consistently for the last five years now, and I meticulously categorize my purchases by author, genre, subgenre, ethnic pairings, series, and favorites. I often go back and reread my favorites, because they’re, well, favorites. My favorites category has now been cut by more than half. This is my face after I’ve reread a few of these “faves”.

ugh

Who ripped the blinders off and ruined the fantasy for me? I’ll tell you what I think it is. I’ve become much more socially and ethically conscious in these last five years, and as I read, I’ve become too damn politically correct. How are racial or cultural differences addressed? Is the guy a misogynist who goes unchecked or “un-redeemed”? Is there slut-shaming or homophobia? I’m RUINED!!!! I am so angry with myself sometimes because I can’t allow myself to just enjoy the damn book! I’ll see fellow readers and bloggers gushing about a book or an author I used to really love, and I’m like nooooo. They wrote that one book where the girl killed caterpillars for fun…Does anybody else feel this way about an author? Or an actor? Or a “thing”? Or is it just me?

***

tumblr_inline_nagmemYTnX1sbfyb2

I’d like to end this week’s musings by publicly thanking all the bloggers, readers, and authors who’ve either publicly supported or privately reached out to me following the shitstorm (which I’ll address in more detail in a future post) last Monday’s musings caused. And while you may not have necessarily agreed with my thoughts and opinions, you respected my right to speak my truth on my “whack” blog without going into attack mode. And for that, you are appreciated. Thank you.

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Falling Out Out Of Love With An Author

  1. I almost forgot about today’s musing until I was scrolling through my Twitter feed and saw the link to this post. Monday’s! Aww shhhhit. What you described has happened to me as well which is why honestly, I don’t read a lot of IR titles any longer. It’s the genre that introduced me to indie authors, but aside from what I already have in my Kindle, or something I’m dying to read that I can’t help one-clicking, I don’t do it. My former faves may have lost their spark. Maybe it’s the demand to churn out books to make ends meet. Maybe I’m reading the wrong peeps books.

    These days, I’m exposed to new to me authors through reviewing for blogs. There’s only a certain amount of chances you can give a fave author before you’re like I CAINT. No mo’ of my money. I want escapism, but I also want a good story that was well edited.

    Also, I wuv you. You handled yourself so incredibly well last week. The ability to rise above says so much about YOU. You don’t come into peeps home and tell them how to decorate! Smh. Continue to be great and do great things my sister. You are a gem.

  2. Personally, I don’t feel it has anything to do with being politically correct – you’re simply human – and we grow, change and move on. It’s not a bad thing, and stop beating yourself up. It would be worse if you didn’t grow, then how would you ever be open to something new?

    I went through something similar last year, and I didn’t just leave authors, I left entire genres. It wasn’t that I had become hypercritical, but that my interest level simply fell to zero. Nothing was changing, nothing was different – I was in essence, reading the same stories over and over again with only a change in character names and locations. Oh well – next! As for non-book related issues, yeah – I’ve seen some sides of authors that made me go in the other direction…but the same can be said for doctors, mechanics and teachers I’ve dealt with. We’re book folks, so it affects us deeper…but it’s just life.

    Authors go through this too, because you see them trying new things, going into new areas and directions. Sometimes, it works and you can connect, and sometimes all you can do is wish them well and continue on your literary journey.

  3. Felicia is on point! We change, grow and see things differently as we navigate through this life. I’ve got 2 boxes of novels written by Black authors that I plan on rereading this year and already know that I’ll be seeing some of them through new eyes like you…💕

    1. I never looked at it from a personal growth perspective. I actually feel better now because I honestly thought I was being too picky and petty, but now that I’m reading these comments, I’m on the right path. Whew…

      1. I agree it is about personal growth. Things we used to love don’t always have the same appeal. As we age we have fresh eyes. Lol I watched Step Up last week after not seeing it for years. At the time I thought it was great (Channing Tatum anyway) but that movie is just whew. Lmao bad example but you know what I mean!

      2. I know exactly what you mean lol. And I still love Step Up lol. It’s the other movies he’s starred in since that I ain’t so crazy about lolol

      3. Think back on some of the books we had to read through school. We were like, “Whaaaaat?” We can read some of those same books today and we’re like, “Ahhhhh, YES!” The book didn’t change – we did.

      4. Girl, I have purged those memories lol. School was a traumatic experience for me,but yes, I get it now. This is why I write these kinds of posts because I welcome everyone’s experiences and feedback and perspectives. It challenges my own thinking, so thank you for your insight!

  4. It so funny that you would blog about this. I was lying in bed last night thinking about all the DNF books I have on my Kindle. I don’t know if it’s that I’m jaded or that I just need to take a break from the books/authors I’ve been reading lately, also the genre. I’ve always love mysteries, police procedural and even true crime. I love IRR, but it’s starting to get a little repetitious for me.

    I find myself more and more skipping over the sex scenes and rolling my eyes. Don’t get me wrong I far from a prude, but sometimes I feel it shouldn’t take 15 pages to describe sex when maybe 3 pages would do.

    I’m 52 years old and there’s has never been a time in my life where I wasn’t reading. I remember reading Shanna by Kathleen Woodiwiss and all the Harlequin romances and that started me on my journey with romance novels. I find myself now going back to the classics. I re-read A Separate Peace by John Knowles, I hadn’t read that since high school and I think I loved it more now than I did then. I have so many classics in boxes in my closet I need to get to.

    Anyway, love your blog and all that you do to keep me 1 clicking…LOL

    1. Yes! This exactly! I think the repetition also plays a factor. I swear there’s one author that I absolutely love and one-click on sight, but every sex scene in every book is the exact same, practically verbatim, and I’m like “Is this chick actually plagiarizing herself?” lol.

  5. When authors plagiarize themselves.LMAO I have got to remember this. As for the topic I just try to remember the great feeling a book brought me. I probably have some romances that are at least 15 years old. Would I read the exact same romance today? Probably not. But then again. So I just try to remember to judge a 15 year old book based on it being 15 years old.

  6. It’s all been said already! As you continue to grow and change so will your reading interests.I think that is a good thing! Keep being unique and true to yourself. We keep coming back for more!

    @gregsgyrl63-I LOVED me some Woodiwiss!

    1. It’s so funny, I have this one book A Rage Against Heaven by Fred M. Stewart in paperback and even though it’s falling apart and I’ve taped it up with duct tape I try to read it at least once every year or two. The same with Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry and The Stand by Stephen King (The complete and uncut version).

      Skye O’Malley by Beatrice Small is a favorite of mine also.

  7. I kind of held my tongue last week, not because I disagreed with you (because I don’t, you were very right right on a lot of fronts), but because I was afraid to wade into that storm. I’m going to say something now.

    You are just evolving as a reader. I am intense romance reader. I like true romance novels and a lot of what gets peddled these days is drama for the sake of drama with some sex thrown on top.

    It just sounds like to me that you’re growing as a reader, and I would love to do a proper book club with you. Discussing things in a thoughtful manner, and a safe place to voice descent.

  8. Girl I left so many authors in the dust nothing personal I’m a butterfly I flit lol. Even authors change what they write they get tired of the same ole and they grow. But so many romance readers start reading so young it should be expected, our taste and interest will change as we grow.

      1. But I did go find me a vampire book, I was like you know let me try this out one more time…Lol. You def have me thinking about this book love hate thing,

  9. You hit the ball right of the park, and I love your musings. Since I only buy in paperback/hardcover I’m very careful about purchasing e-books, but since reading your recommendations I have expanded my e-book collection by fifteen titles. This reader love to re-read novels. Also read Skye O’ Malley by Beatrice Small. My best love bodice ripper novel is ” The Silver Devil by Teresa Denys” who work as an editor for Harlequin Romance in the eighties. Big fan of classic Newberry Awards books, especially Mildred D. Taylor, Madeline L’ Engle and Virginia Hamilton. Lets not forget Mary Stewart and James Clavell still on my bookshelf.

Speak On It

