Book Recommendation: Compassion By Xavier Neal

index

This is the best story Xavier Neal has written to date. I have never teared up this much while reading a story in so long. Not only is this a story about finding true love in the unlikeliest of places, but Compassion is a lesson about humanity, and the way we treat people and assume things about them based solely on what we see and not what we know.

12509839_421849121347278_954403436291807025_n
Archer Cox is a homeless army vet who also suffers from PTSD. He survives the only way he knows how by sneaking in buildings, relying on random acts of kindness, and rummaging through garbage cans to find food and clothing (My heart never ached so badly reading this).

oprah-sad-yes.gif.pagespeed.ce.TG2FlFQ1kv
Jaye Jenkins is a quiet, somewhat sheltered school librarian with a passion for books and baking (Love her!) She’s also still mourning the loss of her fiancé who died three years earlier in a car crash. On the surface, Jaye has it all: two loving parents, her own home, a great job that not only pays well, but fuels her passions, and money in the bank. But Jaye has never know what it feels like to be desired and loved, until she sees a green-eyed “bum” searching through her garbage for food (Again, my heart.)

12644779_423554781176712_244883830497274169_n
What starts off as Jaye simply extending a kind hand to her fellow man morphs into a mutual attraction, and eventually, an unconventional tale of love and perseverance. Archer and Jaye bring out the best of one another by making them confront their fears while offering unwavering support and reassurance. Do not expect a whole lot of the salacious boot-knocking that Xavier is known to give her readers. There are some pretty steamy moments, but this story isn’t about that, and frankly, it’s not even needed. The story is so damn good on its own. You will go through it! Get your tissues ready, and click it up!!!

4 thoughts on “Book Recommendation: Compassion By Xavier Neal

  1. This is the book I needed at this time. I mentioned to you before it was getting harder and harder for me to find quality books lately. It was nice to read a story that truly was real world. No billionaires or extreme alpha males in sight…LOL

    I loved this book. I loved the pace, her relationship with her father reminded me of the one I had with mine. Archer just touched my heart. My husband is in the military so I’ve met some people that have PTSD and the author hit it right on the way it is for them. I found myself shedding a tear or two.

    Archer and Jaye’s story is one I will not forget for a while.

    1. Yes! Yes! Yes! Everything you’ve just said! I read this story almost two weeks ago, and it’s still with me too. It was just so beautifully written and so real. Xavier never fails to hit me in the gut with her stories lol. And the fact that these were “regular” people made the story even sweeter and more endearing. And also the way she sneaks characters from her stories in…Merrick keeps popping up. I just love him lol.

Speak On It

