Monday Musings: Too Much Of A Good Thing Isn’t Always A Good Thing

Monday Musings!

I remember a time not so long ago when I didn’t have a TBR (to be read) folder on my Kindle. Hell, I thought TBR stood for That Book Rocks until somebody schooled me. (I can’t believe I’m publicly admitting this…) The most number of books that I had waiting to be read was maybe six, and whenever it passed three, it literally stressed me the fuck out! It was like an ever-growing list that I couldn’t wait to cross off. I gorged myself on reading all these books only to do it all over again, because you see, not only did I have anxiety about my growing TBR, I also had a touch of book hoarding. There is this fear of not having enough, or rather anything, to read once I finished the book I was currently reading. Guess what number my TBR is now?

402

THAT’S AN APARTMENT NUMBER!

THAT’S SOMEBODY’S ELECTRIC BILL IN THE SUMMERTIME!

THAT’S THE NUMBER YOU PLAY WHEN YOU GET YOUR CHANGE BACK FROM THE STORE!

THIS SHOULD NOT BE THE NUMBER OF BOOKS WAITING TO BE READ IN SOMEBODY’S TBR!!!!

Disgusted

If they were all paperbacks, I could open my own bookmobile for grown women. Remember those? I used to love the bookmobile when I was in grade school. Do they still have those? Anyway, I could read a book a day for the rest of the year and still carry over through January 2017. I should start a challenge. Yeah, right…

How many books are in your TBR???

16 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Too Much Of A Good Thing Isn’t Always A Good Thing

  1. It’s funny, I used to read more non-fiction than fiction, some for research, but others for pleasure, so my TBR file consisted mostly of romance books. These days for some reason, I’m reading more romance, so my non-fiction TBR file is insane, and even worse a couple of those I really need to read because they are for research. I’ve got a great one on polio eradication that I’m determined to read this week though Shelly Laurenston has a new book that drops tomorrow, so that’s probably not going to happen. Another one by Ted Koppel about a terrorist assault on the power grid is driving me insane too. Just not enough time in the day.

    I don’t have any romance TBR, but my research nonfiction TBR has topped off at about ten, and the rest is nearly fifty. I’ve never had this experience before, but I’m trying to write more this year as I have some big guns in the pipeline and want to write a minimum of six books this year.

  2. I honestly don’t know. I have a TBR pile and I have books I’ll get to someday. I would say currently, my TBR pile is probably about 75-100. As in books I want to read within the next few months. The rest… eh when I get around to it. LOL last time I checked how many books I had downloaded on my Kindle, the number was somewhere around 800. Not even bothering to see what the count is as of late. One thing though, I don’t download anything I don’t intend to read. If a book is free, I won’t grab it because it’s free. I mean why have it sit there fo’ eva eva unread?

    1. See… My cheap ass will snatched up a free book like it’s free money. I have to read some of these damn books! Better yet, I have to stop clicking! Not gone happen…

  3. I have zero TBR. I zip through my books so quickly I never get a chance to put together a TBR collection! If I did it probably would only be 1-2 books.

  4. The last time I publicly admitted how many books are on my TBR, folks tried to stage an intervention! So all I will say is 1) It’s low four figures; 2) I’ll never complete it; 3) I’m okay with that. LOL! #bookhoardingisarealdisorder

  5. I am embarrassed to say my TBR folder has 563 books. I didn’t realize it was that high, but I click up so many free books that I kinda lost track..lol.

  6. I know my number is No where near 400 but I still feel guilty. My number is around 50-75. I have tried at least Twice to decrease the number. Not doing a good job. Note to self: Just because it’s free or 99 cents doesn’t mean you have to buy it. Some days that works. Some days it doesn’t. My April list of new releases is looking slim. So maybe I will catch up. Yes I have used this excuse before.

  7. Well! I don’t feel know way. I’m happy with my 235 on my TBR list. However I most say it did take awhile to accept it LOL. And it’s 100% romance. A girl needs to escape from the fam sometimes lol. So with that my name is Pat and I’m a bookaholic 🙂

  8. Im not even gonna mention a number becausr I know its bad, lols. Goodness, to have 6 books on my TBR list? Girl, that would be awesome!

  9. I’m not sure how many are on my TBR because I have so many compilations. One day I literally bought 30 books because of a sale on romance book compilations. All are full size novels too. And I can’t stop buying especially when there is a sale 😳 I guess I could stop but why pay more than you have to? 😁 #booksforlife 📚📚📚

Speak On It

