Monday Musings: It’s Okay To Be Socially Conscious In Romance

Monday Musings!

This week’s musings will be short and sweet-like me (snort).

In light of everything that’s going on in the world (and truthfully, when has it not been going on), I know that some readers read solely for escapism. And I am admittedly one of those readers. But sometimes, I’ll come across a story that is so engrossing, and not just because the author gave me some good romance, but because she spoke on some thangs that touched me in the most profound way.

They acknowledged, without shoving it down my throat, that although they’re writing fiction, the shit they’re writing about also has an agenda. And I’m not just talking about race. It could be misogyny, rape culture, homelessness and economic injustice, politics, whatever…I soak it up, and I genuinely appreciate a writer who’s willing to go there-even if I don’t always agree with what they’re saying.

Preach

Do these types of stories turn you off, or is it not an issue as long as there is also healthy dose of romance to balance out the heaviness of the subject matter?

Save

11 thoughts on “Monday Musings: It’s Okay To Be Socially Conscious In Romance

  1. I’m 100% down for social consciousness. A lot of people turn a blind eye too much to what marginalized groups have to go through. We should consider ourselves lucky that books give one such a safe space without judgement to do so…

  2. Really depends on how it’s approached. I don’t want to be preached at. I don’t want the author’s agenda to overshadow the story. I want it to be a slice of life, to unfold in front of my eyes.

    In general, I like a meaty story mixed with my romance. Like the love story is the story but the B story is what carries me. if it’s all hearts and sunflowers, I’m bored.

  3. Girl you don’t know how much I needed this! I ask myself this all the time. Especially when I get white readers who complain that I mention race too much. For me, I never feel like I overdo it, I only mention the things important to me or relevant to one’s culture and we still get dragged.

    Next WIP, the MC actually has a lot of feeling on the BLM movement and I ask myself, damn should we just take it out? Then I have to remind myself that these conversations are not only important to the character but to me as a person. We’ll probably always get accused of pointing out differences too much but I’m just a firm believer that you can escape and learn something at the same time!

    Thanks for voicing this today!

    1. I know ideally this is the kind of world we want to live in when race isn’t an issue , but it just ain’t so. And I’m not speaking specifically about societal issues necessarily but those that may directly affect the character. I like to see things like black women tying their hair with a scarf at night or speak AAVE without being labeled ghetto and certain cultural customs being addressed,especially when a character isn’t American or wasn’t born and raised American.

  4. I have a story on tap that will definitely take social consciousness to a whole new level. I think there’s absolutely a way to bring social consciousness to a romance without overdoing it. It’s a matter of the author keeping a balance and not letting the message overshadow the connection between the characters. I might get dragged but I’m all about telling a story the way I want.

  5. Well, all I’m going to say is I’m working on the book 10-99, the book after 10-80.
    Well, I’ll also add that as a reader, I don’t like to be preached to, but I appreciate authors who tackle such issues instead of acting like it’s doesn’t exist. I mean, the real part of getting folks together, is overcoming obstacles. So, I haven’t read a book that turned me off of it…even when I don’t agree. It’s still someone’s opinion. Okay. We all have one. 🙂

  6. We read to escape, true. But we should also be learning and growing…even if it’s only subconsciously. As long as the social issues flow with the story and not detract from it…have at it.

  7. Yesterday I started reading a Harlequin Desire. Ten pages into the book and I am already hating the hero. But,one woman’s alpha male is another woman’s patriarchal a-hole I remind myself. But I just can’t let it go. So I cheat and go to the back of the book. “Little homebody????”A reference to the heroine. “Little Avery that watched everything from the sidelines.” Little Avery?????That sounds like a teenager. Not something you would you say about an adult woman. I guess my feminist hackles were on alert. And I just COULD NOT. That book will not be finished.

Speak On It

