Monday Musings: Forcing Myself To Read Other Genres

Monday Musings III

I was scanning my bloated TBR the other day, and looking at all the titles and/or authors, I realized one thing: I’m so vanilla (Never thought I’d say that!) and predictable when it comes to what I like to read. Now, I know some people are perfectly okay with having preferences, but not the kid. I don’t roll like that. At least I thought I didn’t…

One genre thatΒ  admittedly struggle with is paranormal romance. This includes shifters, vampires, inter-galactic, futuristic, science fiction-y stuff. I would not call myself a fan, at all. And that bothers me more than I care to admit, but it’s something about not being able to pronounce the names and the planets, and more importantly, if I can’t “see” myself being in the situation, it turns me off. Yes, I’m weird, and I own it, which is why you’d think I’d be all about this genre. But I’m not.

Now, I’m not saying that I’ve never read any of these books, because I have. And surprisingly, the ones that I have taken a chance on, I actually really liked.But I still go back t my same ol’. I guess I have to take the sushi approach. Hated the stuff with a passion for years until I was introduced to a few “edible” pieces. While I don’t love all sushi, I love some sushi. I don’t love all paranormal, but I like a lot of paranormal. Wait–I’m a living paradox. I love contemporary romance, but I don’t love all contemporary romance. Ugh…I’m a mess…

I’m working on my paranormal-phobia by joining the 2nd Annual Colors In Darkness Halloween Party on Facebook. Join us and meet some wonderful authors and readers who enjoy paranormal, horror, fantasy, and other futuristic and speculative works that feature heroes and heroines of color. There are contests and giveaways galore! Should be a blast!

Is there a genre that you don’t particularly care for that you just won’t read no matter what? Let’s dish…

Save

19 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Forcing Myself To Read Other Genres

  1. I’m a fan of good writing. If I like the author and they decide to dive into something I dont’ normally read, I will probably be a sheep and roll right into it. I don’t enjoy paranormal romance really but Roni Loren and Christina Jones got me to read it. I don’t do BDSM outside of Roni Loren at ALL actually. I don’t do sports romances but Farrah Rochon and Christina C Jones and Love Belvin had me reading about football players and what-not.

    Even my contemporary romance is cherry picked. I don’t be reading everybody out there… but if I enjoy someone’s writing I have probably read their entire back list.

    But dry, uninvited, pick something and read it? Nah. I need an intro, a good word, a secret code. I also read a lot of lit fic and crime/mystery so when I tire of contemporary I just switch genres completely.

  2. I used to have stipulations on what I’d read, but now it’s no holds barred. I don’t have an “Oh heck no” genre that’s off limits. I have things I don’t prefer, but then again, it’s all about the blurb. If a blurb can lure me in, I’m willing to go for a ride. I will read any and everything. I think since becoming an author, I’m much more willing to cast my net wider. You can find inspiration in the most effed up stories.

  3. New Adult. Like you, I’ve also read “some”…and liked “some” of what I’ve read, but usually the foolishness is just too much for me. The genre is called new adult, but old teenager works better for me. πŸ˜„

    Generally if I see #NA…it’s a pass – it’s just not for me. πŸ˜•

  4. I read almost anything, but I can’t deal with being scared so horror stories are ones that I really shy away from. I can do spooky and a little creepy but straight up horror that can give me nightmares? No ma’am. I used to say no YA/NA but I’ve read some that I really enjoyed so I had to stop telling myself that they were all too full of angst. Good luck finding paranormal & fantasy books to enjoy-I love them!

  5. I pretty much read everything too. I don’t always seek out mystery, thrillers or books that don’t have any PoC characters though. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

  6. I used to be an avid mystery, suspense/thriller, horror reader. Steven King, Dean Koontz, Mary Higgins Clark. Romance wasn’t even in my line of sight. But when I read my first romance book, circa 1996–it was on. My first IR circa 2003/4–Seressia Glass’ “No Commitment Required” blew me away. THEN around 2005 I discovered Paranormal with Christine Feehan’s Carpathians–a vampire-like race with kick-ass action and a fantasy-filled romance with scenes so hot they make you almost drool on the pages. Now, I read strictly romance and bounce between spicy contemporary and paranormal; shifters and vampires and psychically enhanced super soldiers.

  7. When I actually make time for reading, I’m all over the place. Right now, I’m reading a dystopian fiction about angels taking on the human race, just bought “Their Eyes Were Watching God” by Zora Neale Hurston yesterday, and one of my fave series is about the zombie apocalypse “The Newsflesh Trilogy”. I read all over the place, but feel like a lot of readers in our circles don’t necessarily branch out. This is prob why a lot of writers, myself included, maintain other pens. Like you said, “errthang ain’t for errbody” πŸ˜‰ Now let me join this FB party, so I can see whassup lol

  8. I love books period, and usually read everything. Not into m/m novels. Right now I’m reading ” Adrian Undead Diary” series.

Speak On It

