Monday Musings: Writers, How Do You Find Balance?

monday-musings-iv

I would really like for this post to be an engaging one because I’m really seeking advice here. I was speaking with a really good author friend who is on the brink of cracking, and I can totally relate. She’s juggling being a full-time wife and mom (Yes, that is a job) while trying to make time for her personal passion, which at the moment, is writing.

While I don’t have a husband or kids, I do feel married to my 9 to 5, which affords me the lifestyle to which I’ve become accustomed (**snort**). But with my unpredictable working hours (9 to 5 being used metaphorically here), I barely have time to pursue my own passions: blogging, reading, editing, book-related stuffs! Okay, social media is a huge time and energy waster, but in my line of bidness, I rely on them to stay in the know an to get my next ideas.

So, my point is, what are some of your time management techniques that work for you? What tools, apps methods do you employ to pursue your passions while also taking care of home? How do you  find balance without losing losing sight of the things and people that matter to you most?

13 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Writers, How Do You Find Balance?

  1. Well…I’m a single mother who works from home and I’m also a professional procrastinator. So discipline is crucial for me because it’s easy to get sidetracked. For example, when I got stuck at a crucial point in my novel, I thought it would be a good idea to take a break and RE-READ the entire Outlander series. There are eight books in the series and they are each well over 600 pages. I’m not proud of that. So to that editor I contacted about sending my manuscript to who might be wondering when that’s going to happen. All I can say is it’s coming soon. I’ve got about 6 chapters to go.

    When I am not sabotaging myself reading when I should be writing, I write late at night and/or very early in the morning. I set word count goals and try to work as efficiently as possible. The other thing is to set up systems, especially for the social media and business aspects of trying to launch a writing career. I can waste a whole day playing with that stuff. So I have to schedule those activities and find tools that help me do them as efficiently as possible.

    And in the midst of all of that, life keeps happening of course. Homework, driving all over creation, cooking dinner, taking a shower, washing clothes, etc… So I have to be flexible enough to adjust and acknowledge that I’m not perfect. Finding balance is a juggling act that never ends.

  2. I freelance part time and have another job part time. I make time for writing by simply writing when inspiration hits. If you love to write, those moments will find you on their own and usually at around the same time every day. Try to plan your days around that time so you have the freedom to write if/when those creative juices starts flowing.

  3. Not exactly a seasoned author since I’ve only been published less than 15 months, but I really respect authors who are just one person. I write with my sister under one name, and sometimes it’s painless, sometimes it makes me want to jump over a cliff =)

    It often means we work on different ideas at once, but the passion is often not the same between the two of us. One plus is that by the time I’m ready to work on something she’s started, she’s already set a strong base, so all I have to do is follow her lead!

    Making time often means having less free time to do other things =/ We basically spend any “fun” money on projects, which sucks and is awesome at the same time. Sometimes you lose desire for a month. Sometimes you want to work on something you know won’t sell, so you don’t want to write at all. I don’t think there’s a wrong or right answer for this discussion =)

  4. Good question! Especially, since I’ve been asking myself the same questions. I’m also a new author, w/ less than 1.5 years under my belt and with as many books that I have out, the question that I get the most often is where I find the time.
    1) I don’t have any kids or man…so there ya go. But now I do have my sis and nephew living w/ me. That has slowed me down
    2) When I was writing like a maniac, I utilized all my time with it. So, on the bus, on the train, taking an Amtrak out of state to events or the plane, I had my cell phone using the MS Word app that automatically syncs when it’s connected is priceless. It allows me to highlight, format, etc.
    3) I just started to limit my time on social media. Logging out, taking the app off my phone, etc.
    4) Hootsuite is a tool that can be used to post, review comments without getting caught up with the timeline posts for FB, Twitter, Google, and Author pages.
    5) Setting aside time to write…meaning, turning down weekend events sometimes is also another way.
    6) Also, putting the nephew on a schedule. In bed by 8, etc. Best thing in the world. lol

  5. No kids, no husband, so I don’t have those things to worry about when it comes to time management but my work hours are not conventional. Trying to fit this writing thing into my daily life has been challenging, to say the least. For me to stick to writing goals, I schedule sprints with author friends a few times a week so that I can hit word count goals or at least work on revisions and other author related things. I also use a timer app. It’s called the multi-timer. I use that app more than ever now.

    I’ve also reduced my time on social media which I will cut down even more in the near future. Come November I’m gone with the wind for 30 days (although it might be longer). I get a lot of things that I need via email. Email seems to be a better use of my time. I can read them on the subway, in the back of an Uber, while working out, etc. I always hear from various people that if it’s important enough to you, you’ll find a way to make it happen. I’m always amazed by women who work full-time, have children, and are still able to get their writing hustle on. It’s admirable.

    There are bloggers out here getting it done as well. Time management seems to be the thing I see repeated often. We’re all allotted the same amount of hours in a day; it’s how we use them that matters most. I wish you luck Patrice! I wish your author friend luck as well. It’s a hard knock life.

  6. I’m with Harper! I respect writers out here doing it with families to take care of. Single, no husband, boyfriend or kids so the time is there when I feel like it and a lot of these ladies release like 10 books a year.

Speak On It

