Monday Musings: Reading For Pleasure? What’s That?

monday

Happy MLK Day! Yes, MLK Day and not that Biloxi bullshit they tried to pull (I had to get a lil dig in. NOT. SORRY.)

Today’s post is short and sweet: What is reading for pleasure because I haven’t done that in years. So, I ask you:

  1. Editors, can you read a book and overlook all the glaring errors and still enjoy the story?
  2. Reviewers, can you do the same and still give the book a glowing review?
  3. Authors, can you read another author’s work and think, “I could’ve written this better or differently.”?
  4. Readers, do you even care as long as the story is engrossing and makes you feel some kind of way?

exasperated

I swear I try to turn off the dial and just read and not trip over obvious stuff, or even the little things, but I.CAN’T.STOP.

13 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Reading For Pleasure? What’s That?

  1. Before I was an author I was an avid reader. Reading for me is pure enjoyment, whether I am reading an ARC for review or something I pulled from the TBR stack. Enjoyment for me means an experience where I don’t trip over mistakes or formatting or general flow of the story. If any of those elements are disturbed, I can’t read it. When I hold a book in my hand, even if it is an ARC (and unless I am BETA reading), I have HIGH expectations. You can be the world’s most flowery writer but if I can’t get lost in your story there is no joy for me.

  2. I’m with Dominique. Majority of the time, its about the enjoyment. I do have to say that I’m loyal to a fault and that bites me when I read. Out of the over 100 books I’ve read in the last 6 months, I’ve only not finished maybe 3 or 4 because there was just too much going on. Once I start a book, I have to finish, even I don’t like it. I’m not a grammar snob but if the grammar mistakes, flow, and general storyline are all out of wack, I can’t. I did a review just yesterday and mentioned random comma placement. It threw me off but didn’t take away from the story. But if its too bad, I have to step away. If I didn’t like it, I won’t leave a review.

    1. I’m the same way. I don’t review negatively unless there’s something just so unforgiving, I have to warn others. I try not to let grammar and spelling bother me too much, but if it’s a constant throughout, I will speak on it.

  3. As an author, I sometimes find myself inserting a word or phrase in the novel I’m reading, if I thought it should’ve been written that way. It takes nothing away from the experience, if reading a error free (or nearly error free) novel. Just me putting my own flare on it. I do that with music too, especially songs that have vamps. Since I’m also a musician, I’ll say, “This vamp should’ve been longer.” Or, “They should’ve used this chord progression instead.” But I still enjoy the song. Weird, I know.

      1. What gets me is when they put the wrong character’s name. I’m confused 🤷‍♀️ because I don’t understand and then I realized they made a mistake. Then I’m annoyed.

  4. As an author, I am guilty of sometimes being like I could have done that when reading something close to the genres I write in. Not all the time though. Sometimes, I am able to just enjoy and not pick…

  5. As a writer, I do get jealous (and inspired!) when I read another writer’s work sometimes. But regardless of whether I am reading for enjoyment, critique, or for editing purposes, it will always come down to the story in the end. However, bad editing can be distracting. One book I read recently kept replacing “but” with “butt”. I wasn’t counting how many times it happened but it was noticeable!

  6. I AM SHOCKED AT THE INCREASING AMOUNT OF ERRORS. I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND HOW THIS IS POSSIBLE. I MUST ASK, IS EDITING YOUR WORK A THING OF THE PAST?
    YET THESE AUTHORS WANT A REVIEW.

Speak On It

