Black Love Spotlight #3: Blackbirds by Lily Java

Ok, I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not a deep reader, and when a romance gets deep, I tend to check out. Blackbirds is an exception. Originally part of the Because My Heart Said So anthology, Blackbirds is now a full-fledged novel, and y’all: I had to read it in one sitting. Hashtag rare!

This story reads like a long, luxurious soak in the tub. This is organic love that’s not rushed but cultivated from a friendship that morphs into something deeper and more emotional than I expected. Sydney and Elliott are two relatable characters whose lives are hardly perfect. Their time together is sometimes upbeat, sometimes solemn, sometimes complicated, but always real. I couldn’t handle it at times ’cause I was like, “Where da sex at?” Real talk. I needs that in my romance, but when a story is well-written, you don’t need it (I need it tho )

Blackbirds is somber at times, but that’s what kept me reading. I had to know El and Syd’s fate! Don’t play with my emotions, but it was well worth it!

Speak On It

