Monday Musings: Black Women Read. And More Than Just Romance

Not only am I a romance junkie, I am a subscription box junkie, and I have discovered not one, but two literary subscription boxes aimed at black women (although not limited to black women) who love to read. And not just romance!

Red.Blk.Grl.

Launched just this month, Red Blk Grl is a monthly curated box featuring works of  contemporary young adult fiction written by black authors and incorporated items that match themes within the book that promote a healthy sense of self and well-being. Subscriptions start at $34.95 and look at what you get!

                                                  Sample box

The other subscription box I discovered (and on Instagram, no less) is Noir Reads.

Noir Reads is simple and easy way to read Black literature to develop or deepen your understanding of Black culture & the Black experience by introducing readers to writers of the Diaspora and engaging in dynamic discussions with a growing private online community.

Subscription boxes, starting at $34.99, include 2-3 curated books & an item mirroring the monthly theme. Subscribers also receive a complimentary reading guide & syllabus for additional related material.

Two very different boxes to say the least. One for your carefree side and the other for your conscious side. I highly encourage you to check them both out and consider subscribing to one or both. I’m in deliberations now myself. It’s just a matter of deciding which current subscription box to let go to make room for one of these :/

 

10 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Black Women Read. And More Than Just Romance

  1. I like the idea of a subscription box but… it’s just too much money for stuff I’m not going to use. I’ll start reading a print book then get frustrated at how slow it’s going and buy the ebook. (rolls eyes at self) I think they’re neat, though especially if you prefer print!

    1. It’s definitely an investment that you may not always payoff but I personally like that unknown element of a subscription box. I just gift the stuff I don’t like or want lol

  2. I absolutely love the idea of this, but I wish these services offered smaller boxes centered on customer selection (Do you want more books, or knickknacks, etc). I have to recommend these to my friends!

Speak On It

