Monday Musings: ARCs Feel Like College Reading Assignments

Have you ever volunteered or have been asked to read an ARC (Advanced Reader’s Copy or Advanced Review Copy, depending on whom you ask) of an author’s work, and you’re all gung-ho and enthusiastic– until it’s time to actually start reading LMAO?! Oh, it’s just me? :/

ARCs ARE LEGIT ASSIGNMENTS!!!!

  • You receive the text
  • You must read and analyze the text by the assigned due date
  • You must provide a written summary of your analysis to present to your “professor” and all your “classmates”

I ain’t gon lie: I volunteer for ARCs because I want in. I like being first, and I wanna have the privilege of reading before everybody else

Accepting the responsibility of an ARC is serious business. Not only are you being entrusted with a pre-published work, but authors are counting on you to actually read their story and provide honest feedback. Lemme backtrack. Most want honest feedback, but only if it’s good. And that’s where things can get touchy.

So, how do you handle completing an ARC that you just aren’t feeling? Do you soldier through and post your review, good or bad? Do you contact the author with your concerns and ask if they still want that honest review? Do you not do anything and risk being put on the ARC shit list? I’ve done all three and lived to tell the tale.

4 thoughts on “Monday Musings: ARCs Feel Like College Reading Assignments

  1. I get what you are saying. Sometimes I receive an ARC and the person will say “Review it when you get a chance.” I tell them that I need a due date, otherwise it might be a few years before I get to it (that legit happened too).

    I try to be very selective with the ARCs I choose to make sure I will probably love it.

    But when it happens that I cannot give the ARC 4 stars, I will not post to my blog during their blog tour or book release week. I will still post, but eventually. I will let the author (or whoever gave me the book) my feelings and why I cannot give the book a higher rating. They usually don’t send me any more ARCs but that is fine. It is not like I have a shortage of books in my TBR lol

    I will still share to Twitter and Facebook, but I will not tag the author. I may or may not put it on Amazon.

  2. All this!! 🙌🏽 🙌🏽

    Why I’ve given up accepting ARCs for the indefinite future. It was fun to read books prior to their release at first. I’d have maybe 2-3 in my queue at a time and I’d post my review right away. Then I started getting more requests and I felt bad saying no so I accepted books all willy-nilly. And things changed from fun to WORK…unpaid and thankless, sometimes! I have 2 books sitting on my kindle right this minute that were sent to me well over a year ago. 😫 The authors have called me out of my name and called me a thief. Did I f*** up? Yup! But giving me a $3.99 book doesn’t give anyone the right to call me names. Nope! Those books are on the “when I’m stranded on an island and I’ve read all the other 5,900 books on my kindle” list.

Speak On It

