Friday Flashback: Nappily Ever After by Trisha R. Thomas

This week’s flashback features the first book in a now nine-story series (so far). It was revolutionary in that our hair was as central to the storyline as the characters themselves, and I am talking about none other than…

It the title doesn’t give it away, I don’t know what does. Nappily Ever After is the tale of a Gen-Xer who finds self-liberation after letting go of the man who defined how she viewed herself and the idea of a perfect life and the long, luxurious mane that defined how other people saw her.

Venus Johnston had it all: dream job, gorgeous home, hair to die for, and the man of her dreams. Now, you know good and well that if it seems too good to be true, then it usually is. Clint turns out to be nothing more than a fuckboy with a medical degree and Venus gives new meaning to the phrase “Short hair, don’t care”.

What I love about this story is it addressed so many of the things I was personally experiencing at that time, way back in 2001 when this story was first published. I was in a dead-end relationship and I let my hair define my idea of beauty. While I had just begun transitioning from relaxed to natural hair, I still wore straight-haired wigs because I wasn’t ready to embrace the “natural me” then. Venus was brave in her decision to chop off her Barbie-like mane and wear a short natural. She was even braver to let go of a man who was safe and comfortable but wouldn’t commit to her in a more permanent manner.

Nappily Ever After is told with candid hilarity. I think we all have a little Venus in us, and we all know a Clint. Or two…

2 thoughts on “Friday Flashback: Nappily Ever After by Trisha R. Thomas

  1. Boy if I didnt feel liberated after reading this book….then I met another fuck boy, lols….ugh. great book tho

Speak On It

